Stallions

     

    Stallion Licensing

    The licensing is the most important selection step for young stallions. The colts are stallion graded either in-hand at two-and-a-half years or under the rider at 3-yr-old and older (April grading). The autumn grading of the colts is the breeding year’s major event. In Holstein, this event has been held at the Neumünster Holstenhalls for well above 30 years. At the Elmshorn grading sites held in January and April, older stallions are admitted, as well.

    During the summer months June and July, the colts are presented for pre-selection to the stallion grading held at Neumünster in the end of October. There is no pre-selection for the Elmshorn grading sites. At least three members of the grading committee judge the colts at the pre-selection and the grading. In order to succeed at the stallion grading, they have to convince the panel in terms of conformation, movement and jumping ability.

     Click here for detailed information about stallion licensing

     

     

     

    Stallion performance test

    At the grading, the stallions are primarily judged for conformation and structure. The evaluation of the free jumping provides the only information on own performance. Stallion performance testing is the first official assessment of own performance. The stallion performance test system has been thoroughly reformed in 2016. The test may be completed on station (50-day test) or by combining 14-day on-station testing and competition tests.

     Click here for detailed information  about the stallion performance tests 

     

     

     

    Stallion book registration

    A stallion successfully completing the selection levels stallion grading and performance testing is listed in the stallion book I. Outcross stallions considered to hold exceptional value for the Holsteiner breeding programme can be listed in the stallion book I if they fulfil the requirements stipulated by the Holsteiner Verband articles.

     Click here for detailed information  about stallion book registration

     

     

     

    Breeding Value Evaluation

    Every year, in order to estimate a stallion’s potential as a sire, the results of the current breeding value evaluation are published. At the end of every breeding year each breeder is issued his breeding stock’s breeding values (stallions and mares) along with the Activated Breeding Stock Report.

     Click here for detailed information  about breeding values

     

     DSC_3456-217581-edited.jpg

Hengste

 

Die Hengstkörung

Die entscheidende Selektionsschwelle bei den Hengsten ist die Körung. Die Körung erfolgt entweder im Alter von zweieinhalb Jahren an der Hand oder ab dreijährig (Körung im April) unter dem Reiter. Die Junghengstkörung ist das größte Ereignis im Ablauf des Zuchtjahres. In Holstein wird diese Veranstaltung seit weit über 30 Jahren im Herbst in den Holstenhallen in Neumünster ausgerichtet. Weitere Körveranstaltungen, zu denen auch ältere Hengste zugelassen sind, finden im Januar und im April in Elmshorn statt.

In den Sommermonaten Juni und Juli läuft die Anmeldezeit zur Vorauswahl der Junghengste für die Körveranstaltung Ende Oktober in Neumünster. Für die Körveranstaltungen in Elmshorn ist keine Vorauswahl erforderlich. Die Beurteilung der Hengste bei der Vorauswahl und der Körung wird von mindestens drei Mitgliedern der Körkommission vorgenommen. Für ein positives Körurteil müssen die Hengste in den Bereichen Exterieur, Bewegung und Springen überzeugen. 

 Lesen Sie hier alle Details  zur Hengstkörung

 

 

Hengstleistungsprüfung

Die Körung bezieht sich vorrangig auf die Exterieurbeurteilung der Hengste. Aussagen zur Eigenleistung werden lediglich über die Beurteilung des Freispringens getroffen. Die erste offizielle Beurteilung der Eigenleistung erfolgt im Rahmen der Hengstleistungsprüfungen. Die Hengstleistungsprüfung wurde 2016 umfassend reformiert. Sie wird jetzt als Stationstest (50 Tage) oder als Kombination aus Stationstest (14 Tage) mit Turniersportprüfungen durchgeführt.

Lesen Sie hier alle Details zur Hengstleistungsprüfung

 

 

Hengstbucheintragung

Die Eintragung eines Hengstes in das Hengstbuch I erfolgt nach Ablegung der beiden Selektionsschritte Körung und Hengstleistungsprüfung. Fremdbluthengste mit einem für das Holsteiner Pferd außergewöhnlichen züchterischen Wert können bei Erfüllung der in der Satzung festgelegten Voraussetzungen in das Hengstbuch I eingetragen werden.

 Lesen Sie hier alle Details  zur Hengstbucheintragung

 

 

Die Zuchtwertschätzung

Zur Einschätzung der Vererbung eines Hengstes werden jährlich die Ergebnisse der aktuellen Zuchtwertschätzung veröffentlicht. Zum Ende jedes Zuchtjahres erhält jeder Züchter die Zuchtwerte seiner Zuchtpferde (Hengste und Stuten) mit der Bestandsmeldung.

Lesen Sie hier alle Details zur Zuchtwertschätzung

 

 DSC_3456-217581-edited.jpg