125 years Holsteiner Verband

    Breeding better horses together since 1883

    In 1883, the horse breeding societies already in existence in the 19th century united to form the first horse breeding association in the Kremper Marsch. In 1935, this association joined forces with the "Verband des Schleswig-Holsteiner Geestlandes" established in 1896 to form the "Verband der Züchter des Holsteiner Pferdes".

     

     Stuten.jpg

     

    More Recent History

    In 1944, the brand still in existence today was introduced. After World War II, the land between the seas saw an alarming decrease in horses. In 1960, with only 1311 Holsteiner mares left, the Schleswig-Holstein Parliament decided to dissolve the Traventhal state stud established in 1874. After a great deal of discussion, the Verband took over almost the entire Traventhal stallion portfolio and went on to build the Elmshorn stallion depot over the years. Currently round about 70 Verband-owned and approximately 200 privately owned activated Holsteiner stallions are bred, with about 8000 brood mares registered in Holstein today.

     

    Holsteiner Breeding

    In 1883, Georg Ahsbahs of Sommerlander Riep issued the first stud book. The mare families or stems still in existence and continued today that form the basis of today’s Holsteiner breeding originate from this systematic breeding records.   

    The middle of the 20th century has seen the adaption of the breed from agricultural horse to sport horse. Again, primarily English Thoroughbred stallions were successfully used to improve and refine the Holsteiner breed as they found an excellent basis in the consolidated Holsteiner mare families.

    During the 1960s alone, more than 25 TB sires were put to stud in the land between the seas, with one stallion in particular to put his stamp on the breed at this time: Ladykiller, a TB stallion born in England in 1961. He is the sire of Landgraf I, who had his monument erected in front of the Elmshorn stables already during his lifetime. Cor de la Bryère, who died in 1999 at the venerable age of 31, must be mentioned in the same breath with Landgraf I. Along with Ladykiller, "Corde", as he is affectionately called by the breeders, has had the greatest impact on modern sport horse breeding in the land between the seas. Another stallion to have made Holsteiner breeding history is Capitol I. Capitol I has sired numerous jumping horses and stallions known all over the world, like for example Cassini I, Carthago, and Dobel's Cento, to name only a few. 

    Due to existing breed characteristics including willingness to perform, hardiness, and jumping ability the Holsteiner sport horse has gained a foothold on the competition scene very quickly.

    The Holsteiners take a top position in the worldwide jumper stud book ranking of the World Breeding Federation for Sport Horse (WBFSH). Holsteiner sport horses have made it to the forefront in the disciplines dressage and eventing, as well. This success is due to the consolidated Holsteiner damlines bred to English Thoroughbred improvement sires and the selective inclusion of French sport horse performance genes. Moreover, exceptional performance stallions have been selectively included into the breeding programme on a trial basis.

    -->

125 Jahre Holsteiner Verband

Gemeinsam bessere Pferde züchten Seit 1883 

Die im 19. Jahrhundert bereits existierenden Pferdezuchtvereine schlossen sich 1883 zum ersten Pferdezuchtverband in der Kremper Marsch zusammen. Dieser Verband fusionierte 1935 mit dem 1896 gegründeten "Verband des Schleswig-Holsteiner Geestlandes" zum "Verband der Züchter des Holsteiner Pferdes".

 

 Stuten.jpg

 

Jüngere Geschichte 

1944 wurde der noch heute genutzte Brand eingeführt. Nach dem 2. Weltkrieg verringerte sich der Pferdebestand im Land zwischen den Meeren bedenklich. 1960 gab es nur noch 1311 Holsteiner Stuten, was den schleswig-holsteinischen Landtag dazu bewog, das 1874 gegründete Landgestüt Traventhal aufzulösen. Nach vielen Diskussionen übernahm der Verband fast den gesamten Hengstbestand aus Traventhal und baute sich im Laufe der Jahre in Elmshorn das Hengstdepot auf. Rund 70 Verbandshengste und an die 200 Holsteiner Privathengste befinden sich derzeit im aktiven Zuchteinsatz, rund 8000 Zuchtstuten sind heute in Holstein registriert.

 

Die Holsteiner Zucht

1883 wurde das erste Gestütsbuch durch Ökonomierat Georg Ahsbahs, Sommerlander Riep. herausgegeben. Aus dieser systematischen Zuchtbuchführung sind die heute noch gültigen und weitergeführten Stutenstämme entstanden, die die Basis der heutigen Holsteiner Zucht bilden.

Mitte des 20. Jahrhunderts erfolgte die Umzüchtung vom Wirtschaftspferd zum Sportpferd. Zur Veredelung des Holsteiner Pferdes wurden vorrangig wieder englische Vollbluthengste eingesetzt, die aufgrund der konsolidierten Holsteiner Stutengrundlage eine hervorragende Basis für eine erfolgreiche Einkreuzung vorfanden.

Allein in den sechziger Jahren kamen mehr als 25 "Blüter" im Land zwischen den Meeren zum Einsatz. Darunter ein Hengst, der der damaligen Zucht seinen besonderen Stempel aufdrücken sollte: Ladykiller xx, der 1961 in England geboren wurde. Er ist der Vater von Landgraf I, dem bereits zu Lebzeiten vor den Elmshorner Stallungen ein Denkmal gesetzt wurde. Im gleichen Atemzug wie Landgraf I muss der 1999 im hohen Alter von 31 Jahren eingegangene Cor de la Bryère genannt werden. Neben Ladykiller xx hat "Corde", wie er liebevoll von den Züchtern genannt wurde, die moderne Sportpferdezucht im Land zwischen den Meeren am stärksten geprägt. Ein weiterer Hengst, der Holsteiner Zuchtgeschichte geschrieben hat, ist Capitol I. Capitol I ist Vater zahlreicher weltbekannter Springpferde und Hengste. Stellvertretend für viele andere seien hier nur Cassini I, Carthago und Dobel's Cento genannt. 

Aufgrund der vorhandenen Rasseeigenschaften wie Leistungsbereitschaft, Härte und Springvermögen fasste das Holsteiner Sportpferd sehr schnell Fuß im Turniersportgeschehen.

Nach der Rangierung der Weltzuchtorganisation für Sportpferde (WBFSH) nimmt die Holsteiner Springpferdezucht weltweit einen Spitzenplatz ein. Auch in den Disziplinen Dressur und Vielseitigkeit sind Holsteiner Sportpferde in der Spitze vertreten. Diese Erfolge basieren auf der durchgezüchteten Holsteiner Stutengrundlage in Verbindung mit Veredlern aus der englischen Vollblutzucht und gezieltem Einsatz von Leistungsgenen aus der französischen Sportpferdezucht. Außerdem wurden Zuchtversuche gezielt mit außergewöhnlichen Leistungshengsten durchgeführt.