The Holsteiner horse

    The Holsteiner

    A more than 800 year long success story
    The history of the Holsteiner horse traces back to the year 1225: Gerhard I, count of Schleswig- Holstein and Stormarn, granted the Uetersen monastery the right to graze its horses on the uncultivated land of county Pinneberg. Already under King Christian I (1460-1481), Holstein had a state stud department.
    hengst.jpg

    For centuries, the Holsteiner horse has been bred by farmers. The breed originated in the marsh lands of the river Elbe and the west coast of Schleswig-Holstein. Then bred as an agricultural horse, the breeding goal included particular traits like the characteristic breed type which could be described as expressive, with a lot of frame, substance, and bone due to the selective insertion of Thoroughbred blood.

    At that time, Holsteiners used to have predominantly bay coats and were noted and appreciated for their performance traits well beyond the borders of the country. Particularly as exclusive driving horses, highly impressive for their type and their typical Holsteiner, ground-covering and high striding gaits, the breed attracted attention during the 18th century. But also among farmers, the Holsteiner horses had a reputation for their performance attitude and hardiness, traits they had been highly selectively bred for owing to the difficult soil of the Holsteiner marshes.

    -->

DAS HOLSTEINER PFERD

DER HOLSTEINER

EINE ÜBER 800-JÄHRIGE ERFOLGSGESCHICHTE
Die Geschichte des Holsteiner Pferdes lässt sich bis in das Jahr 1225 zurückverfolgen: Gerhard I., Graf von Schleswig- Holstein und Stormarn, verlieh dem Kloster Uetersen das Recht, seine Pferde in der Wildbrache der Grafschaft Pinneberg zu weiden. Das Landstallmeisteramt gab es in Holstein bereits unter König Christian I. (1460-1481).
hengst.jpg

Das Holsteiner Pferd ist eine Rasse, die seit Jahrhunderten in bäuerlicher Zucht betrieben wird. Der Ursprung dieser Rasse liegt in den Flussmarschen der Elbe und an der Westküste Schleswig-Holsteins. Das damalige Zuchtziel des Wirtschaftspferdes beinhaltet als besondere (Rasse) Merkmale, den charakteristischen Rassetyp, der durch gezielte Vollblutzufuhr als ausdrucksstark, mit Rahmen, Körpersubstanz und starkem Knochenbau bezeichnet werden konnte.

Der damalige Holsteiner trug vorrangig die braune Fellfarbe und war wegen seiner Leistungseigenschaften weit über die Landesgrenzen hinaus bekannt und geschätzt. Besonders als Luxuskutschpferd, mit imponierender Ausstrahlung durch den typvollen Ausdruck und die für den Holsteiner charakteristischen hohen und räumenden Gänge, sorgte die Rasse im 18. Jahrhundert für Aufsehen. Aber auch in der Landwirtschaft war die Leistungsbereitschaft und Härte der Holsteiner eine bekannte Eigenschaft, die bei den schwierigen Bodenverhältnissen der Holsteiner Marschen immer wieder eine besonders hohe Selektion bewirkt hat.